Sculpture group Scheepvaartkwartier (2013) Robbert Jan F. Donker

photo Otto Snoek
About the artwork

Since 2011, the Stichting Beeldengroep Scheepvaartkwartier has the goal of creating and maintaining a group of sculptures to embellish the Scheepvaartkwartier in the vicinity of the Westplein and the Veerhaven in memory of a number of important Rotterdam citizens who have lived in the vicinity of that area. lived. On the 100th anniversary of the Erasmus Foundation in 2011, a bronze bust of him was made by the Rotterdam artist Robbert Jan Donker as a tribute to its founder, Dr. Elie van Rijckevorsel (1845 - 1928). Then the plan arose to make more images for prominent Rotterdammers. Paul van de Laar (director of Museum Rotterdam) subsequently opted for DG van Beuningen (1877 - 1955), Louis Jamin (1881 - 1953), Anthony van Hoboken (1756 - 1850) and Marten Mees (1828 - 1917). These five Rotterdammers were of great significance to the city: as shipowners, bankers, scholars, benefactors or industrialists. Together they represent the Rotterdam go-getters, who have brought prosperity and prosperity to the Maasstad. All five busts were made by the same artist, Robbert Jan Donker. On Friday, May 31, 2013, the Sculpture group Scheepvaartkwartier officially unveiled by five female (distant) descendants of these prominent former Rotterdammers.

read more
About the artist

Robbert Jan Donker (Amsterdam, 1943 - Rotterdam, 2016) studied at the Academy of Visual Arts in Rotterdam from 1960 to 1965. These years turned him into a 'native Rotterdammer' with a great fondness for the Kralingen district. The work of sculptor Donker is characterized by the creation of human figures, reliefs and especially animal figures in bronze and stone.

read more